Years 10 and 11 GCSE

A wide variety of activities will be undertaken in lesson time. Research, investigation, practical activities, visits as well as interactive sessions will take place to cover the units that will be set.

Specification Content

The qualification has three components that focus on the assessment of knowledge, skills and practices. These are all essential to developing a basis for progression and therefore learners need to demonstrate attainment across all components in order to achieve the qualification The components are strongly related and they are best seen as part of an integrated whole rather than totally distinct study areas. Normally, learners will take this qualification over a two-year period or longer.

The course incorporates the key skills which future employers value. For example, communicating, working as individuals and as teams, use of ICT and problem solving. Work experience and speakers are incorporated into the units of work during the course to gain valuable experience.

Awarding Body


Each components of work contains statements of the evidence you need to produce in order to achieve a Pass, Merit or Distinction grade at level 1 or 2. The depth of your study determines your final assessment for each unit you do, with Distinction available for high quality work. All units of work will be assessed against the assessment criteria. Components 1 and 2 are internally assessed and component 3 is externally assessed.

Tutorials will be carried out with you to identify targets to improve assessments. One unit of work will also be examined by a one hour written paper which will be externally marked by the examination board.

Topics covered

The three components are:

  • Human lifespan development
  • Health and Social Care Services and Values
  • Health and Wellbeing

Recommended revision guides / course resources

BTEC Tech Award Health and Social Care Student Book ISBN 9781292200927