Why choose this subject?

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is equivalent to one A Level. There are 360 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completion of the qualification. Lessons will be a mixture of practical and classroom based theory lessons.

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.

How will this subject be delivered?

Throughout the two year course you will study four units of work. These are as follows:
• Unit 1: Information Technology Systems
• Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
• Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business
• Unit 5: Data Modelling

How is it assessed?

Unit 1 is assessed as a written exam and Unit 2 is assessed as a task, both of which are marked externally by the exam board. The remaining two units will be assessed using assignments (coursework tasks) which are set and marked internally at school.

Subject specific entry requirements

A minimum of five GCSEs at grades 5-9 including maths and English.


The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements for many courses if taken alongside other qualifications as part of a two year programme of learning. The new BTEC National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is aimed at progression to higher education but also enables learners to develop knowledge and skills needed for entry-level roles related to IT, including vocational apprenticeship roles and trainee/entry-level roles such as a social media specialist, web/content developer, or business analyst.

Additional costs relating to this course

There may be additional costs with this course.